small banner
home page about us page activities page publications page Wakefield's history contacts page links page

coming events

 

may 2019

Wednesday 1 May: The Battle of Towton, by Helen Cox, Horbury and District Historical Society, Horbury Methodist Church, High Street, Horbury,7.30pm, visitors £2.50.

Saturday 4 May: Kirkgate Calling, by Dr. Phil Judkins. Wakefield and District Family History Society

Thursday 9 May: Women of Westminster - the legacy of Yorkshire's first woman MP, Alice Bacon by Rachel Reeves. Wakefield Historical Society. Town Hall, Wakefield, 7.30pm. 

Friday 10 May: Visit to the National Coal Mining Museum Library, Local and Family History Network, Ossett & Horbury Group, More information: News

Tuesday 14 May: WHS/WCS make-your-own-way visit to Double Two/Wakefield Shirt Company. More information: Summer Excursions

Tuesday 14 May: Paste paper and mini book binding, West Yorkshire History Centre, 10am - 1 pm. More information and booking: WY History Centre Event

Thursday 16 May: WHS/WCS coach trip to Lichfield. More information: Summer Excursions

Monday 20 May: Death on the Parish, free talk, West Yorkshire History Centre 11 - 12 am.
More information and booking: WY History Centre Event

Wednesday 20 May: Overcoming Brickwalls and Top Tips in Family History, Local and Family History Network, 1.30pm - 3.00pm, Wakefield One Library, More information: News

Wednesday 22 May:  My work as an English Country and Slip-ware potter and its relevance to pottery of the past by John Hudson. South Leeds Archaeology

Advance notice

Saturday 1 June: Making a Difference: Voluntary adult education in Yorkshire, 1700-1945, by Pushpa Kumbhat. Wakefield and District Family History Society

Wednesday 5 June: Walk, organised by Dick Dodd and Jeff Casey, Horbury and District Historical Society

Saturday 8 June: Peterloo: The Massacre, its background and its aftermath, 1-4pm, Wakefield Labour Club, More information: News